Skip to content

The nature lovers were stumped

April 30, 2007

Today while working in the yard, we found a worm that I hadn’t seen (in this size) before… I was stumped… though I thought it looked like a planarian, I had never seen one of this size before and wasn’t sure… so of course, I grabbed the camera and took a few shots, and then, grabbed the laptop and got to work searching…

Introducing….Bipalium kewense Moseley

img_2427.jpgimg_2428.jpgimg_2429.jpg

Officially, for photographic purposes I should have put in an object of known size, however.. I didn’t… but I can tell you, while this guy was moving along the side of our dog kennel, at his full extension he was probably 6 inches long.

Land planarians are voracious earthworm eaters.. AHHH… we don’t want our earthworms eaten up… though I can say that I’ve seen tons and tons of worms in the soil, so I don’t really think I have to worry.
The kids enjoyed investigating our land planarians (we found two of them)… but thankfully they are now out in the yard.. ๐Ÿ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2007 6:50 am

    Ewwww… Got shivers all over just looking at this thing… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

