Skip to content

Shamrock Half Marathon, Virginia Beach, VA

March 18, 2007

sign.jpg

The shamrock half marathon was today… I drove up yesterday with Abby’s kindergarten teacher from last year.. Molly, and her SO Steve… nice drive, complete with knitting that had to be frogged from talking too much… oh bother…

dinner.jpg

Molly, Elizabeth, and I (and the two Steve’s) had dinner at PI zerria, decent pasta, but salty pizza for Steve…

I helped Molly and Elizabeth (another of the Kindergarten teachers at JY Joyner) in their training for the half marathon… which began as a weight loss plan for them both, and developed into the idea to run in the Shamrock half. Both have done tremendously well in the weight loss category, and their running really improved along the way… I’m so excited for them to have run the whole race, with no hip issues for Elizabeth!

finish.jpg

We each ran our own races.. so I started in the first ‘corral’ while they started in the 6th… I finished in 1:43:37, which works out to 7:55 pace. I was surprised at how well I did and how good I felt considering how terribly my training has been the last few months… but I’ll take it… I seriously didn’t think I’d finish in 1:45.. nevermind less!

The weekend was filled with people dressed in silly leprechaun outfits and other goofy get ups… and I couldn’t resist taking a photo of one guy’s dog…
green-dog.jpg

How much green paint did he get everywhere else in his house… ???

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2007 4:22 pm

    It was great to hear from you! Great job on your marathon. Wow. I can’t even imagine walking it, let alone running it. What a great accomplishment. I sure do remember you. I was lurking in AK’s comments and saw your name, but couldn’t remember why it rang a bell. Next, I went to mine, and there you were. You made my day. I also about fell out of my chair when I realized that you knit too. What are you working on these days?

    I love the new blog.
    Shelly

Leave a Reply

