Skip to content

Finishing Friday

January 30, 2009

finishing_friday_button_medium

It’s that time again.. time to announce my finishes for the week…

This was my first week where I didn’t finish an in progress WIP aka UFO from prior to the start of 2009…  it actually somewhat bothers me that I couldn’t make the time to get something from before done… but it’s all good really.. many of my remaining UFOs are rather big projects… that will likely take a good amount of time to finish… and since I am keeping the theme of finishing in my mind.. I did put in some work on the Linus Project Blanket that I expect to gift to my Cousin for his baby due in April…  so all is not lost.. I did work on a UFO this week.

Instead though of concentrating solely on those older UFOs this week I concentrated on ‘obligation’ knits.. aka.. gift knits…

First…  the cocoa swap buddys that my partner wants…  my partner and I KNOW who we each are… as the hostess of this swap last year I accidentally gave myself away to my partner… and the process of organizing and running the swap was a bit much for also keeping myself a secret to my pal ended up being too much.. so this year I opted to just swap with my co-hostess and great friend Holly… who happens to be insanely busy right now herself… so it all works out for the best for both of us.  Her two boys really wanted a marshmallow.. so I knit them each one…

img_1991

and then knit an additional marshmallow for a Pay it forward friend (the middle guy in the above picture)… I dressed him up a bit with a wintery hat since she’s a northerner…I unfortunately haven’t paid it forward to her yet though as we’ve been a bit trapped at home due to our recent storm.  I should be able to get it in the mail to her early next week.

img_1998

And Finally, I knit my friend Tracey a pair of fingerless mittens… I do hope she’ll love them as much as I loved knitting them.  The pattern was super easy and a very quick knit.

traceymitts

I’m gifting them this afternoon at the sock hop at school for the end of Catholic Schools Week.

I still have one other gift knit I’m working on … for my cocoa swap pal… but that cannot be highlighted here until the swap is over 🙂  I hope to get it done by next week… 🙂

And here’s the updated list…

Here’s my updated WIPs/UFOs list

1. Snowman Hat for Rosalie
2. Snowman Hat for Emmett’s Best Bud
3. Vine Lace Scarf for Lace Knitting Class
4. Reader’s Wrap for Bella aka ME ** More than half done, but ran out of yarn, checking for more today at AC Moore
5. Ravenclaw Trapped Bar Scarf
6. Dobby for Rosalie **Nearly complete, need to get eyes finished today if possible, again need to get something at AC Moore for this
7. Hamster for Emmett
8. Kitchen Bag for Me
9. I Love Edward Socks
10. My Eskimo
11. My Underthings
12. Carlisle’s Cabled Hat – Moved to the Frog List
13. Chewyghan ** Balled the yarn for the finishing of this lapghan, no excuses now!
14. Esme’s Crest Bag (Design)
15. Peppermint Cloth
16. Rosalie’s dishcloth afghan
17. Alice’s Dischloth Afghan
18. Alice’s boa scarf
19. Emmett’s green fuzzy scarf
20. Halloween Cloth (Ball band)
21. Alien Hat
22. Odessa for Me
23. Hemlock Ring Blanket
24. Pomatomus Socks
25. Cabled Scarf ** Can’t find pattern, may end up frogging
26. Bus Scarf (Design)
27. Blue Linus Project Pattern baby afghan
28. June is for Jag Scarf (new 2009)
29. Amanda Hat (new 2009)
30. Neck truffle (new 2009)
31. Secret PIF Gift (new 2009)
32. Swallowtail (new 2009)
33. Cocoa Swap Buddy (new 2009)
34. Tracey’s Reading Mitts (new 2009)
35. My Reading Mitts-remiz (2009)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 11:37 am

    Just adorable as always – the little guy with the hat is especially cute!

  2. Debbi permalink
    February 2, 2009 9:20 am

    Love the marshmallow guys. And, was just thinking of making myself some fingerless gloves. Those are so pretty. So, I went to the sight to get the pattern. Little confused about the thumb gusset – what does m1 and sm stand for? I have some off white yarn at home and need to get started 🙂 .
    Are you back to running (of course not outside!)? My son and family live in Scotrun (by Camelback) so, I know how the weather can get up there in the mountains.

  3. February 1, 2009 6:29 pm

    I love those marshmallows! I’m planning on making smores with the kids tonight. 🙂

  4. Holly permalink
    January 31, 2009 10:02 am

    Pretty mitts. The boys will love there gifts. You are the sweetest.

  5. January 31, 2009 1:48 am

    Awww the little guys are so cute and the one with the hat I just want to hug him:) The mitts are totally gorgeous!!!!Hugs Darcy

  6. January 30, 2009 4:19 pm

    Adorable marshmallows. Any specific pattern?
    Love the mitts!

  7. Amanda permalink
    January 30, 2009 3:41 pm

    What a great list! I have finish work to do on my UFO’s, too. The fun knitting part is done.

    Love the marshmallows!

  8. January 30, 2009 11:45 am

    Those marshmallows are just too darned cute!!!

    And the mitts are gorgeous. I’ve been looking at that pattern and think I’ll have to do a pair.

  9. gimpykatk permalink
    January 30, 2009 11:07 am

    I loved those Marshmallow buddies last year, they are too cute.

  10. January 30, 2009 10:59 am

    Those mitts are wonderful. Love the eyelets and picot edge.

    I’m wondering if you’ve made it to AC Moore yet? Your list still says you are going today 🙂 Have a great day and another productive week. g

  11. January 30, 2009 10:26 am

    You’re going to post those mitts when I get up a Mr. Linky right? I like the picot and the eyelets on these. Even though you didn’t work a ton on UFO’s …you got a lot of finishing done.

  12. chanknits permalink
    January 30, 2009 10:01 am

    Pretty stuff. MJ got her mitts this morning and wore them for about an hour.

Leave a comment