Skip to content

Cocoa Swappin

January 26, 2009

1

So I never answered last weeks topic because well.. let’s face it.. I have little ones and a packet type cocoa is almost all I ever have time for!  That  made with milk, and topped with marshmallows, fluff or whipped cream (depending on the mood I’m in) is about as extravagant as it gets around here….

But I will address this weeks topic.  Which honestly isn’t that far off of last weeks topic… but  I wanted to include it because I wanted to talk about making homemade  marshmallows.  We began making them a few years ago when my middle child asked me where marshmallows came from.. and I honestly had NO CLUE how they were made… so.. I researched (aka googled) and got an easy recipe and got busy making my first ever batch of marshmallows.  It’s not all that time consuming, and the Littles think it’s great fun.. so we’ve made a few batches each winter to enjoy…  this year I’m going to try for flavored types :-)

There are a slew of recipes out there to try…

The Barefoot Contessa’s Recipe
Alton Brown’s Recipe
Martha Stewart’s Recipe
The first recipe we tried (complete with stepwise photos)

All the recipes are nearly the same… so you can’t go wrong.  We used the last link the first time we tried so that we could be sure we were doing it correctly.  I was doing it with a 3 year old, so his ability to see the progress photos was nice.  This year though I think I’ll try some of the others and alter flavors  :-) wish me luck… :-)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 10:33 am

    I make the Cooking for Engineers recipe all the time. I made them chocolate once… by mixing a tablespoon of quality unsweetened cocoa powder with just enough water to make a pourable paste and added it in at the point of adding the vanilla in the recipe (instead of vanilla). They tasted like having a cup of cocoa without having to boil water. But they lost a little bit of their “fluff”

    They are also great if you use something like crushed oreos or graham cracker crumbs instead of the powdered sugar to coat the pan.

  2. January 26, 2009 10:36 am

    All I can say is yummmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  3. January 26, 2009 12:23 pm

    I love homemade marshmallows. So far though…I haven’t made them myself. I love being invited over to a friends house for cocoa. Her hubby makes the marshmallows.

  4. gimpykatk permalink
    January 26, 2009 12:53 pm

    Homemade marshmallows… super mom strikes again

  5. knittingrunner permalink
    January 26, 2009 6:05 pm

    Homemade marshmallows yum, even better homemade marshmallows that have been dipped in chocolate or carmel. They were Christmas gifts last year to our friends.

  6. January 26, 2009 9:28 pm

    I swear I gain weight just reading your blog and comments. I want to try making marshmallows – but I swear I would just eat them all and it would defeat the purpose. Try adding a scoop of good vanilla (either french vanilla or vanilla bean) ice cream to your cocoa – very, very good. g

  7. January 26, 2009 10:52 pm

    Yummers!!!!!Hugs Darcy

  8. January 27, 2009 7:13 pm

    HEY michelle I got my package today and I don’t have time to look up your email (forgive me for posting this here) and I LOVE IT!!! love love love the neckwarmer, and OHMYGOSH those “buttons” are so COOL! You’re the best, thank you a million times over!!!! I’ll send you a proper thank you next week, we’ve got oodles of crazy stuff going on here and I can’t find a moment to myself. THANK YOU so very much for the wonderful surprise. Big big big smooch!
    XOXOXOX
    Cass

  9. January 28, 2009 7:19 pm

    That so cool. I probably would have told Middle Child “from the marshmallow tree!” like that book by Phoebe somethingorother called The Balloon Tree. I loved that book.

  10. January 30, 2009 4:23 pm

    Yum! Now you already know about my love for Alton Brown, and how much of a geek I am… I am tempted. Can I borrow your kids so I don’t look like I’m doing it for myself? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

