Skip to content

There’s no such thing as ‘Resolutions’

December 31, 2008

For me.. it’s all about thinking ahead… and looking back!  There’s always something about yourself that you wish you could change… be better at.. what have you…  and of course I have those typical lists… lose 20 lbs.. yeah.. who doesn’t want that…  but for me it’s more about finding those things that are really important and addressing them.

lg_grip_bottle_dko

I don’t believe in ‘cold turkey’ anything…  everything can be accomplished with persistance and ‘baby steps’…  and I’ve made great changes in the past with that method… like significantly decreasing my Diet Coke intake from 2-3 per day down to ‘on special occasions, or dinner’s out at a favorite restaurant.  It’s still a favorite drink for me.. I just drink water more than Diet Coke now…  I made that change in a week by week process… starting with … only 2 diet cokes per day for a week, and then only 1 per day…, one every other day.. and so on and so forth until I was down to where I am now…  I can buy a 12 pack that will last me a month or two…

This year I don’t have a ‘let’s get rid of this’ from my life sort of thing…  it’s more a focus on giving more to my family and.. to myself…  I’m a GIVE person… and I sacrifice myself a lot of the time… and I need to take a step back and give to myself too…

Last year  I addressed my knitting and made it a ‘knit for myself’ year…  and I plan to continue that this year… with a slight twist…   it’s not the Year of the Ox, as the Chinese calendar states… it’s the year of the UFO…. the Knitting UFO (un-finished objects)…

I spent much of yesterday cleaning my closet.. which happens to house my knitting stash… YIKES…  As I sorted my stash (still a work in progress)… I found unfinished objects left and right…

Some are things that really just need to be ripped…  I mean seriously I don’t use eyelash yarns or the other popular (in the early 2000′s when I really got back to knitting) novelty yarns anymore…  I put together an entire box of yarns that I’m going to list on Ravelry for the lovers of those Novelty yarns…  maybe I will sell some.. maybe not…  it’s not being knit with here.. so I might as well try to make a few $$ off of it… and if I don’t I’ll donate it somewhere…

I took photos of all the random other UFOs that I found… and plan to upload them to Ravelry today (if I get a free moment from my NYE cleaning for our plans tonight, and.. the bigger if… if I can find the camera… can’t seem to find it at the moment!)…  and my goal is… NO NEW CAST ON PROJECTS until I finish a UFO.  Casting on a new project will be my reward for finishing something from my pile.  All those that need to be ripped will count as ONE single project.. because there are quite a few that need to be ripped and re-wound into balls…

Wish me luck on the Ravelry sales and on the UFOs… some are fairly big projects…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    December 31, 2008 9:58 am

    Sounds like a plan! Being the speed knitter that you are, you’ll whip through some UFOs in no time!

    Happy New Year!

  2. December 31, 2008 10:15 am

    I’m hoping to use my stash up and then just buy to knit so to speak (except sock yarn). Well done on cutting back on your Diet Coke intake – I think I really need to look at doing that as I know I drink way to much. I only really drink diet coke or coffee – not good. They thing is I eat really healthy, just drink unhealthy (not in alcohol as I don’t drink it except on very rare occasions)
    Happy New Year!!!!

  3. December 31, 2008 10:20 am

    Sounds like a good plan to me! I’m hoping to do the same thing too! I signed up for NaKniDoMO on Ravelry in hoped to complete some UFOs too!
    Happy New Year!

  4. December 31, 2008 10:26 am

    Now Michelle that camera was last seen taking a picture of a little girl in sunglasses with a name tag on her head, LOL

    I only have 2 UFO’s, but I have several things I wanted to START and haven’t. Those are on my to do list for 2009

  5. Cindy permalink
    December 31, 2008 1:43 pm

    I can relate to the ufo’s and projects for which the yarn was bought and never made. Then there’s the pile of sock yarn…Good luck with the UFO’s and sales.

  6. December 31, 2008 7:23 pm

    I hope you have a wonderful New Year! I’m planning on boxing up some of my “excess” yarn to give to some charities. There was a women’s shelter that I gave to last year…I wonder if I can still find the address.

  7. January 2, 2009 9:29 am

    Good for you!! That’s quite the personal challenge!

  8. Amanda permalink
    January 2, 2009 6:55 pm

    So that’s where you’ve been! ha ha… in your closet!

    I, too, have been doing an insane amount of organizing in my house. It’s the best feeling to go into a closet or storage area and see everything right in front of you – instead of having to dig to the back of the space…

    That is how I spent my day today (1/2)…

    See you on FB! Your blog layout looks awesome, BTW!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

